Murkowski Announces 2010 Service Academy Nominees

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, today announced she has nominated 43 young Alaskans for appointment to the U.S. military service academies for the class of 2014.

"We received numerous applications from talented and gifted students across Alaska. It is unfortunate that there are never enough openings to accommodate all of our nominees," said Murkowski. "These are stellar candidates who have demonstrated excellent leadership capabilities and strength of character. It is a privilege to nominate them for admission to our five service academies."

Nominees were selected based on their academic record, extracurricular activities and potential for leadership. A congressional nomination does not guarantee admission to a service academy. Sen. Murkowski's nominees will now compete against other nationwide candidates for a space in the entering class. The service academies will make the final decisions.

The following is a list of nominees and their hometowns:

U.S. Air Force Academy - Colorado Springs, Colorado:

Alexander Babos, Eagle River
Brandon Cameron, Anchorage
Christian Cecil, Elmendorf AFB
Hannah Choi, Anchorage
Lance Cronin, Eielson AFB
Jared Isaacson, North Pole
Rachel Kennedy, Wasilla
Benjamin Lamirand, Anchorage
Keane Lucas, Wasilla
Miguel Martinez, Anchorage
Monica Nuernberg, Palmer
Dustin Pianalto, Wasilla
Patricia Rose, Palmer
   Miss Rose was also nominated to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, New York.
Karsten Schick, Kodiak
Samuel Sewell, Anchorage
Chad Speer, Wasilla
   Mr. Speer was also nominated to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York.
Dale Sperling, Eagle River
Ayla Stromquist, Sitka
John Thompkins, Anchorage
Stephen Turner, Eagle River

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy - Kings Point, New York:

Randy Adams, Anchorage
William Cullen, Valdez
Colin Irish, Valdez
Harold Jansen, Palmer
Kathryn Miller, Valdez

U.S. Military Academy - West Point, New York:

Estan-Charles Cabotage, Fairbanks
Eli Carlson, Juneau
Rebecca Cheek, Fairbanks
Matthew Higgins, Anchorage
John Knowles, Wasilla
Teppei Kono, Anchorage
Tiffany Marlow,Palmer
Sean Moline, Seward

U.S. Naval Academy - Annapolis, Maryland:

Alexander Barto, Juneau
   Mr. Barto was also nominated to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York.
Nathanael Brown, Anchorage
Crystal Green, Delta Junction
Robert Hoyt, Fort Wainwright
   Mr. Hoyt was also nominated to the U.S Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, New York.
Laura Jungreis, Anchorage
Abigail Nagel, Palmer
   Miss Nagel was also nominated to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, New York.
Thomas Osterman, Kasilof
Bradley Truax II, Palmer
Crystal Reno, Ketchikan
Dalton Riggs, Anchorage
   Mr. Riggs was also nominated to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, New York.

Sen. Murkowski also sends congratulations to several Alaskans who received service academy nominations through either a Vice-Presidential nomination or by a service secretary. Alaskans receiving these nominations are Nicholas Castillo, Phillip Corre, and Michael Mirand, Anchorage; Cristine Kaufman, North Pole; Lawrence Perkins, Douglas and Jordan Roth of Eagle River to the U.S. Military Academy; Angela Hartford of Eagle River, to the U.S. Air Force Academy; and Ahmad Nasir of Anchorage to the U.S. Naval Academy.

# # #