Alaska Congressional Delegation Announces Alaskan Garrett Boyle to Lead Denali Commission

Boyle Appointed to Denali Commission Co-Chair

U.S. Senators Lisa Murkowski, Dan Sullivan, and Congressman Don Young, all R-Alaska, today announced that Garrett Boyle has been appointed by the Secretary of Commerce as the Denali Commission Federal Co-Chair. Boyle will replace John Torgerson who has been serving in the role of Interim Federal Co-Chair.

Garrett Boyle received his bachelor’s degree from Seattle University and is a graduate of Tulane University School of Law. He was raised in small towns throughout Alaska, including Ouzinkie, Unalakleet, and Seward. He currently serves as Deputy Chief of Staff and Chief Counsel in Senator Murkowski’s office where he previously held the position of Legislative Director.

“Garrett has the background, experience, and passion to lead the Denali Commission. From day one serving Alaskans as a member of my staff, he’s worked on rural development and environmental policy issues. He has a tremendous depth of knowledge of the unique needs Alaskan communities face and more importantly, knows what it takes to meet those needs from a policy and a funding perspective. Garrett understands the crucial role Denali Commission plays in the lives of Alaskans – especially to the health and economic development for those living in rural Alaska. He’s been a valuable member of my team for years and I will miss him greatly, but I’m excited about all that he will bring to the Denali Commission,” said Senator Murkowski. “I also want to extend a huge thank you to John Torgerson for all his work as Interim Federal Co-Chair. He stepped into the role in a big way and I thank him for his service.”

“From growing up in rural communities throughout Alaska, to working in Congress and serving the state through his staff roles in the U.S. Senate, Garrett’s background and work experiences make him uniquely qualified to lead the Denali Commission and execute its important mission,” said Senator Sullivan. “Garrett has a deep appreciation for the challenges and opportunities facing our state’s rural communities and understands how the Commission can best address these issues to improve the well-being of Alaskans. I look forward to working with Garrett. I also want to thank John Torgerson for his service as Interim Federal Co-Chair.”

“I am very pleased to welcome Garrett Boyle as Co-Chair of the Denali Commission. Garrett is an Alaskan through and through, and he has proven his commitment to improving lives in every corner of Alaska. I am confident that he will help the Commission continue serving the people of our state,” said Congressman Young. “My dear friend, the late Senator Ted Stevens, was a tireless advocate for the Denali Commission, and through its work his legacy continues. This is why the Denali Commission is so important to me and why I will always stand up for its mission in Congress. I also want to thank John Torgerson, who put service above self and stayed on as Interim Co-Chair while he could be enjoying retirement. In the years ahead, I look forward to working with Garrett on rural development, economic opportunity, Alaska Native policy priorities, and countless other areas in which the Denali Commission plays a vital role.”

Denali Commission Background: The Denali Commission was established in 1998 by the late Senator Ted Stevens to fund economic development and infrastructure in rural Alaska. The Denali Commission also serves as the lead agency to assist communities facing flooding, permafrost degradation threats and coastal erosion, such as the village relocation of Newtok to Mertarvik. In the FY21 government funding bill, $15 million was allocated for the Commission to continue its critical mission of addressing infrastructure needs in rural Alaska.