Alaska’s Congressional Delegation Wishes Success to This Year’s Service Academy Appointees

ANCHORAGE, AK – Senator Lisa Murkowski, Senator Mark Begich and Representative Don Young issued the following statement of appreciation today for the young Alaskans who have been nominated for and accepted to the nation’s top military academies.

“We commend this outstanding group of young Alaskans for their patriotism and commitment to service to this great nation.  Although Alaska is a young state, we have a tradition of producing outstanding leaders.  We are confident that this group of remarkable young Alaskans will carry on this tradition.”

Each year, members of the delegation have the privilege of nominative outstanding Alaska students for appointment to the nation’s service academies.  Nominees are selected through a highly competitive process and are officially appointed by the President of the United States.

This year’s appointees are: 

For U.S. Coast Guard Academy  (USCGA):

Brandon Williams

For U.S. Merchant Marine Academy  (USMMA):

David Harland 

For U.S Merchant Marine Academy - New Mexico Military Institute (NMMI)

Dylan Magnusen

For The United States Air Force (USAFA):

Bailey Patricia DeSaussure

Jordan Weum Clifford

Kiowa Richardson

Rebekah Diotte

Sydney Sulte

Edson Tung

For The United States Naval Academy (USNA):

Willa Claire Nagel

Thomas Krasnican

Jason Prince

Nicholas Curtin

For The United States Military Academy (USMA):

Mitchell Sanderson

Liam Fulton

Michael Garrett

David Huff

Joseph Brown

Justin Chamblee

Nicholas Roth

For Northwestern Preparatory School

Nicholas Fleming