Alaska’s Post Offices Are “More Than Statistics or Traffic Rates”

Murkowski Welcomes News That Fewer Alaska Post Offices Are At Risk of Closure

ANCHORAGE, AK – Senator Lisa Murkowski is pleased to announce that the United States Postal Service has confirmed they have removed all but 5 post offices from the original list of those being considered for closure in Alaska. 

“I appreciate that as the post office has been running numbers to find efficiencies, it found that many post offices originally considered for closure or transformation to the Village Post Office model are more than statistics or traffic rates – they’re the focal points for many small Alaskan communities,” said Murkowski.  “Everyone needs to be re-evaluating costs and services in this economic climate, but they need to do so thoughtfully. I am pleased that the Postmaster General has recognized that challenging weather conditions and lack of road and alternative access make changes to 31 of the 36 post offices on the original list unreasonable.”

The communities in which post office changes are no longer being considered are:

Aleknagik                               Anvik                          Beaver            Bettles Field

Chitina                                   Circle                          Clarks Point   Clear

Crooked Creek                      Ekwok                        Hughes           Kaltag

Karluk                                    Kobuk                        Koyukuk        Lake Minchumina

Levelock                                 Manley Hot Springs  Minto              Nikolski

Nondalton                              Platinum                     Point Baker    Red Devil

Shageluk                                Skwentna                   Sleetmute        Stevens Village

Tyonek                                   Wales                          White Mountain

The five post offices remaining on the list for potential closure are:

            Anchorage Postal Store                                Fort Wainwright

            Elmendorf AFB                                            Eielson AFB