Delegation Reiterates Support for Tongass Roadless Exemption

U.S. Senators Lisa Murkowski and Dan Sullivan and Congressman Don Young, all R-Alaska, today released the following joint statement as the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) closed the 60-day comment period for its proposal to reinstate the 2001 Roadless Rule on the Tongass National Forest.

“Southeast Alaska deserves a sustainable economy, but the one-size-fits-all Roadless Rule works against that. It should never have been applied to Alaska, and it should not be re-applied this year or any other. For the sake of everything from transportation access to renewable energy, we remain united in our support for the Roadless Rule exemption finalized in 2020, and opposed to this effort to once again force unnecessary, sweeping restrictions upon millions of acres of the Tongass.”

For more information, please click here and here.