Murkowsi announces 2009 Service Academy nominees

Contact - Michael Brumas at 202.224.9301 or Anne Johnson at 202.224.8069

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, nominated 33 of Alaska’s best and brightest young people for appointment to the U.S. military service academies for the year 2009—the Class of 2013.

“We received a great many appointment requests from wonderful and gifted Alaska students. It is unfortunate that we never have enough openings to accommodate all of the nominees who have the makings of successful service men and women,” said Murkowski. “These are all stellar candidates who have already demonstrated excellent leadership capabilities and strength of character. It is a privilege to nominate them for the four service academies.”

Nominees were selected based on their academic record, extracurricular activities and potential for leadership. The following is a list of nominees and their hometowns:

Air Force Academy:
Justin Blott, Kodiak
Daniel Lange, Chugiak
Kenneth Sample, Fairbanks
Francis Adkins, Wasilla
Tanner Armstrong, Eagle River
Brandon Cameron, Anchorage
Benjamin Lamirand, Anchorage
Mary Estes, Anchorage
Julie Loughlin, Anchorage
Zachariah Vanlandingham, Anchorage

Merchant Marine Academy:
Clay Merrill, Kodiak
Harl Romine, Sitka
Deanna Davis, Eagle River

Military Academy (West Point):
Joseph Brown, Anchorage
Nicholas Castillo, Anchorage
Stephen Hudson, Anchorage
Christopher Moropoulos, Palmer
Capshaw Nagel, Palmer
Bridger Van Ness, Wasilla
Matthew Williams, Anchorage
Michael Zweifel, Seward
Bonfacio Faiaipau, Anchorage
Stormy Sagmoen, Anchorage

Naval Academy:
David Kennedy, Wasilla
Molly Solmonson, Anchorage
William Faulkner, Homer
Kelly Brakora, Anchorage
Hamid Nasir, Anchorage
Laura Jungreis, Anchorage
Keegan Kilgore, Anchorage
Thomas Boots, Anchorage
Bradley Truax II, Wasilla
Aaron Sharrow, Wasilla

Sen. Murkowski also congratulates Anna Simmers of Anchorage, Kaitlin Todd of Wasilla, Cristine Kaufman of North Pole, Ryan Montgomery of Anchorage and Gregory Wuestner of Fairbanks, who received nominations to the Military Academy (West Point), and Joshua Christman of Palmer and Brandy Jayne of Eagle River, who received Air Force Academy nominations from either a Presidential or ROTC recommendation.