Murkowski Accepts Honorary Position on IEA’s Global Efficiency Commission

U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, today announced that she has accepted an honorary membership position on the International Energy Agency’s (IEA) independent, high-level Commission for Urgent Action on Energy Efficiency (Commission). The announcement was made at a brief press conference held today with Dr. Fatih Birol, IEA’s Executive Director.

“I am proud to be part of a concerted global effort to encourage energy efficiency and truly appreciate Dr. Birol extending this invitation,” Murkowski said. “Efficiency can make a significant difference in our lives, whether we live in big cities or remote communities, and is one of the best ways to reduce energy costs and greenhouse gas emissions. It is critical that countries around the world advance reasonable policies in this area, and I commend IEA for recognizing this as a need and an opportunity.”

“We are honoured that Senator Murkowski will be joining the Global Commission,” Dr. Birol said. “As Chairman of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, she has been a strong advocate for action on energy efficiency and will bring invaluable experience and knowledge to the work of the Global Commission.”

Founded in 1974, IEA now includes 30 member countries and is a leader on global energy policy and analysis. Dr. Birol and other experts from the agency regularly testify before the Energy and Natural Resources Committee to provide updates on their work and insights into global energy markets and trends. 

IEA established the Commission in July 2019. The Prime Minister of Ireland, Leo Varadkar, serves as its honorary chair. Serving with him are nearly 20 current and former government officials and business executives from around the world. Murkowski, who is chairman of the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, is the only U.S. federal government official on the Commission.

Related Issues: Energy