Murkowski Announces 2010 Service Academy Nominees

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, nominated 29 of Alaska’s best and brightest young people for appointment to the U.S. military service academies for the year 2011—the Class of 2015.

“Each year we receive many appointment requests from outstanding and talented Alaska students. It is always unfortunate that there are never enough openings to accommodate all of the nominees who have the makings of successful service men and women,” Murkowski said. “These accomplished candidates have already shown excellent leadership qualities and strength of character. It is a privilege to nominate these Alaskans to the four service academies that require Congressional nominations.”

Nominees were selected based on their academic record, extracurricular activities and potential for leadership. The following is a list of nominees and their hometowns:

Air Force Academy:

Matthew Chavarria, Kodiak

George Waring, Elmendorf AFB

Daniel Williams, Eagle River

Kayla Gibson, Eielson AFB

Jonathan Jester, Homer

Quinton Metcalf, Anchorage

Veronica Morthorpe, Eagle River

Victoria Walker, Soldotna

Scott Wheeler, Anchorage

Forrest Wilcox, Juneau

Merchant Marine Academy:

David Alexander, Fairbanks

Stanley Cameron, Anchorage

Ryan Tracy, Wasilla

Renn Wright, Wasilla

Military Academy (West Point):

Ronald Fancher, Anchorage

Dillon Ball, Soldotna

Leanne Deaton, Fairbanks

Joseph Hopp, Anchorage

Trent Jones, Anchorage

Harold Jansen, Palmer

Connor Gamache, Anchorage

Jessica Stokes, Fairbanks

Joshua Moan, Kodiak

Naval Academy:

Cody Carroll, Soldotna

David Alexander, Fairbanks (Also nominated to the United States Merchant Marine Academy)

Blake Hamilton, Haines

Renn Wright, Wasilla (Also nominated to the United States Merchant Marine Academy)

Arthur Johnson, Anchorage

Alexander Schumann, Anchorage

Stanley Cameron, Anchorage (Also nominated to the United States Merchant Marine Academy)

Nigel Mosley, Girdwood

Abigail Nagel, Palmer

Ryan Tracy, Wasilla (Also nominated to the United States Merchant Marine Academy)

Sen. Murkowski also congratulates Ashley Kaufman and Shawn Sullivan of North Pole, Sara Carriker of Fairbanks, David Castonguay of Kodiak, and Jordan Roth of Eagle River, who received military-affiliated nominations to the Military Academy (West Point).