Murkowski Applauds U.S. Mint Design to Feature Historic Alaska Native

National Coin Planned to Honor Native Rights Leader Elizabeth Peratrovich and Alaska’s Anti-Discrimination Law

U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, (R-AK) today praised the decision by the U.S. Mint to feature Elizabeth Peratrovich, an Alaska Native who inspired enactment of the Alaska Anti-Discrimination Act of 1945 on a new $1 coin.

“Elizabeth Peratrovich stood up for those who needed a voice, when she witnessed significant discrimination against Alaska Natives. Her message was clear and powerful – that we must strive for equal rights for all citizens. This is great news for the Peratrovich family, Alaska Natives across the state, and for all of us as Alaskans.”

The Alaska Anti-Discrimination Act of 1945 was one of the first anti-discrimination laws in the United States. The Act, which Peratrovich worked tirelessly to advocate for in the Alaska Territorial Legislature, provided for full and equal accommodations, facilities, and privileges for all citizens in places of public accommodation within Alaska.

“Throughout her life, Elizabeth was a well-known and effective leader in Alaska. She was well-educated, a mother and wife, a dedicated member of the Presbyterian church, and she served as a Grand Camp President for the Alaska Native Sisterhood. We as Alaskans know and honor her memory often, but this coin will help bring her message of equality and perseverance to millions of people across the country.”

The coin will be released in 2020. In accordance with the Native American $1 Coin Act of 2007, the coin will retain the central figure of the “Sacagawea” design on the obverse side (heads). The reverse side (tails) will feature a design that commemorates Elizabeth Peratrovich and Alaska’s Anti-Discrimination Law.