Murkowski, Begich Resolution Marks This Weekend as “Global Youth Service Days”

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senators Lisa Murkowski and Mark Begich today announced that this weekend, April 20th – 22, 2012, has been designated “Global Youth Service Days” after a resolution they introduced passed the U.S. Senate this week unanimously.

“One of the most important lessons for children is giving of themselves and their time to the community,” Murkowski said.  “It’s a great habit to get into as early as possible, and I am so proud of the many young Alaskans who volunteer their time to help those in need.  I value their idealism, energy, creativity and unique perspectives as they volunteer to make their communities a better place for all.”

“Alaska’s young people are compassionate and hardworking, and they contribute thousands of hours every year to help others and make the world a better place,” said Begich. “Global Youth Service Day gives us an opportunity to praise those efforts and to look for new opportunities to help our neighbors, strangers, and friends. I’m happy to salute our young people, our leaders of tomorrow, and will continue doing what I can to support building global citizens for the future.”

S. Res. 421 Global Youth Services Day calls on Americans to:

  • Encourage young people to participate in community service and service-learning projects and to join their peers in those projects;
  • Recognize the volunteer efforts of the young people of the United States throughout the year; and
  • Support the volunteer efforts of young people and engage youth in meaningful community service, service-learning, and decision-making opportunities as an investment in the future of the United States.

 Global Youth Service Day – observed for 24 consecutive years – is the largest and longest-running service event in the world dedicated to engaging youth ages 5–25.

Additional co-sponsors of S. Res. 421 Global Youth Services Day are Sens. Patty Murray (D-WA), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Tim Johnson (D-SD), Daniel Akaka (D-HI), Chris Coons (D-DE) and Mark Udall (D-CO).