Murkowski Congratulates “Best of the Best” Alaskan Blue Ribbon Schools

– Senator Lisa Murkowski today offered her congratulations to three Alaska elementary schools for being named National Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education: Haines Elementary School, Crawford Elementary on Eielson Air Force Base, and Peterson Elementary in Kodiak. These schools were recognized as “Exemplary High Performing Schools” based on their overall academic excellence.

“I’d like to offer an Alaska-sized congratulations to each of these schools for their outstanding accomplishments, and being recognized as the ‘best of the best’ of what our education system aspires to be,” said Murkowski. “Education is the engine of Alaska’s future, and I know that teachers and administrators statewide work tirelessly to build a strong foundation for our state’s next generation. On behalf of a proud state – and as former PTA member myself – congratulations to the staff, parents, and students of Haines Elementary, Crawford Elementary, and Peterson Elementary!” 

Senator Murkowski serves on the Senate’s Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions committee and has made it a mission of hers to visit every school in in Alaska. Most recently, she has visited Skagway School, Alakanuk School, Emmonak School, Chief Ivan Blunka School, Tikigaq School, and Dzantiki’I Heeni Middle School.  Tomorrow and Monday, she will continue her personal challenge and visit elementary schools in Ketchikan and Seward. She hopes to visit Haines, Crawford, and Peterson Elementary Schools in the near future.