Murkowski Joins First Ever Bipartisan Law Enforcement Caucus

New Caucus Aims To Create the Best Policies from City Streets to VPSOs

WASHINGTON – Senator Lisa Murkowski joined 17 Senate colleagues in launching the first ever U.S. Senate Law Enforcement Caucus this week, with the goals of educating and informing each other about the programs and initiatives keeping our communities safe, while advocating for the policies law enforcement agencies need to carry out their missions.

“Whether they’re policemen patrolling Alaska’s urban streets or our Village Public Safety Officers, Alaska’s law enforcement officers deserve support and encouragement – but more importantly, they need a extra help for them to maximize their efforts during difficult economic times” said Senator Murkowski.  “That’s why I’m joining this vital caucus, to share the best ideas nationwide and implement them where they’re needed to keep America safe, and our law enforcement officers girded with the added protection of information.”

“While the brave men and women of law enforcement are doing everything they can to keep our communities safe, Congress ought to be doing everything it can to support their work,” Senator Coons (D-DE) said. “In this challenging economic time we may not be able to provide them all the resources they deserve, but we can still provide support by advocating on their behalf in Washington, by strengthening relationships between local, state, and federal agencies, and by highlighting best practices. This caucus will help us do all three.”

The caucus plans to hold regular briefings on pressing law enforcement issues for U.S. senators and staff, as well as to meet regularly with law enforcement officials to learn about best practices and the tools they need to keep our communities safe.

U.S. Senators Chris Coons (D-Del.) and Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), will co-chair of the new caucus. In addition to Senator Murkowski, other founding members of the caucus include Kent Conrad (D-N.D.), Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Ben Nelson (D-Neb.), Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Mark Kirk (R-IL), John Boozman (R-Ark.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), and Dean Heller (R-Nev.).