Murkowski Joins Reintroduction of Bipartisan Resolution Opposing Privatization of the United States Postal Service

U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski joined 24 of her Senate colleagues to reintroduce a bipartisan resolution opposing privatization of the United States Postal Service (USPS). The resolution notes that the USPS is a self-sustaining establishment and that potential privatization would result in higher prices and reduced services for USPS customers, especially in rural communities.

“The Founders of our nation recognized that the Postal Service was a crucial link to diffuse knowledge and support commerce.  For decades, Congress has recognized that the purpose of the Postal Service is “to bind the Nation together through the personal, educational, literary, and business correspondence of the people”. Nowhere is the Postal Service more important than in Alaska, where its dedicated employees connect Alaskans to each other, to the Lower 48, and to the world as no other entity can.” said Senator Lisa Murkowski. “Where most communities are unconnected by road and many have antiquated internet connection, we rely on the Postal Service to bring knowledge, commerce, and vital basic necessities to each community.  I am proud to co-sponsor this resolution to re-affirm the importance of the Postal Service as an independent establishment of the Federal Government and to reject its privatization.”

The USPS is a self-supporting, independent entity that relies on revenue derived from the sale of postal products and services, not on taxpayer dollars. The USPS employs over half a million Americans, including over 105,000 military veterans, who provide postal services to more than 157 million residential and business customers. The USPS serves as the center of the $1.4 trillion mailing industry, which employs 7.5 million people in the United States.

The full list of bipartisan cosponsors joining U.S. Senators Gary Peters (D-MI) and Jerry Moran (R-KS) includes Senators Tom Carper (D-DE), Tina Smith (D-MN), Susan Collins (R-ME), Doug Jones (D-AL), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Angus King (I-ME), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Tom Udall (D-NM), Jack Reed (D-RI), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Tim Kaine (D-VA) and Jon Tester (D-MT), Jacky Rosen (D-NV) and Maggie Hassan (D-NH).

The measure is also supported by the National Association of Letter Carriers, the American Postal Workers Union, the National Rural Letter Carriers Association, the National Association of Postal Supervisors, the United Postmasters and Managers of America, and the Coalition for a 21st Century Postal Service.