Murkowski Proudly Announces 2017 Military Academy Nominations

Today U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) proudly announced the names of 34 young Alaskans who she is nominating to the U.S. military service academies for the class of 2021.

“This year’s selection of candidates embodies the traits and characteristics we expect from our men and women in uniform, and they truly make Alaska proud,” said Senator Murkowski. “It is an honor for me to nominate such talented Alaskans to our service academies. Their willingness to dedicate themselves to our nation at such a young age should be an inspiration to us all. I wish them the best as they continue the rigorous process to become officers in our military.”

U.S. military service academy nominees are selected based on their academic record, extracurricular activities, and leadership capacity. Though a congressional nomination to a service academy is an accomplishment within itself, it does not guarantee admission; service academies will make final decisions.

Senator Murkowski’s 2017 Service Academy nominees and their hometowns are as follows:

U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, CO 

Beck, Nathanial  - Ketchikan;  Crowley, Mary “Katie” – Palmer;  Foreman, Micah  - Eagle River;  Metzger, Raymond – Anchorage;  Michie, Tanner - Delta Junction;   Mosakowski, Jacob – Wasilla;   Nakada, Fintan – Anchorage;   Pabon, Joseph – Anchorage;   Tiffany, Justus – JBER;   Tung, Charles “Joe” - Anchorage

U.S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD

Chandler, Thomas - Big Lake;   Larson, Madeline – Wasilla;   Lautrup, Jeffrey – Palmer;   Leonard, Kade - Eielson AFB;   Osborne, Nicolas - Eagle River;   Pieper, Niklas – Anchorage;   Quinn, Holden – Palmer;   Scarboro, Dillon - North Pole;   Shideler, Cameron – JBER;   Siler, Emi - Eielson AFB

U.S. Military Academy, West Point, NY

Brooks, Brandon – JBER;   Cline, Robert - North Pole;   Downey, Henry – Anchorage;   Fulton, Perry – Fairbanks;   Isaacson, Ethan – Anchorage;   Markose, Elias – JBER;   Mooty, Cole - Eagle River;   Mulkins, Taylor – Palmer;   Sargent, Kevin “Max” – Anchorage;   Verfaille, Connor - Valdez

U. S. Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point, NY

Bassett, Savannah - Eagle River;   Grover, Bradley – Wasilla;   Sherrill, Gerik – Ketchikan;   Wesen, Delana - Anchorage