Murkowski Receives Inaugural Technology Neutrality Award

WASHINGTON, D.C. – This week, Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, was honored by the U.S. Coalition for Advanced Diesel Cars as the inaugural Champion for Technology Neutrality. The award recognizes leaders who support outcome-based federal automotive policy that fosters innovation and achieves real-world results.

“I’m honored to receive this award,” Murkowski said. “Improving fuel efficiency is an important cause, and I strongly believe we must remain open to explore all of the options available to achieve heightened standards. It’s unrealistic to assume that there is a single technology capable of achieving our goals and meeting the diverse needs of drivers across the country. Instead, we must draw on all of our resources to stimulate innovation without strong-arming the American people into a one-size fits all solution.”

Murkowski is the ranking member on the Senate Energy and Natural Resource Committee.