Murkowski Selected as Chairman of ENR

The Republican members of the Energy and Natural Resources Committee yesterday chose Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, to serve as the panel’s chairman for the 116th Congress.

“Our committee has a great history of accomplishment, and I will do everything I can to keep that tradition going in this new Congress,” Murkowski said. “I’m grateful to my colleagues for this continued honor and have my sights set on another productive Congress.”

The Republican Caucus ratified committee chairs at a conference meeting this afternoon. Serving with Chairman Murkowski on the committee for the next two years are the following Republican Senators:

John Barrasso, Wyoming

Jim Risch, Idaho

Mike Lee, Utah

Steve Daines, Montana

Bill Cassidy, Louisiana

Cory Gardner, Colorado

Cindy Hyde-Smith, Mississippi

Martha McSally, Arizona

Lamar Alexander, Tennessee

John Hoeven, North Dakota 

Murkowski has served as chairman of the committee since the beginning of the 114th Congress.

Related Issues: Energy