Murkowski Statement on Changes in FERC Leadership

U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, today issued the following statement after Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) Chairman Kevin McIntyre announced that he would step down as chairman due to ongoing health issues. President Trump has designated Neil Chatterjee to serve as chairman. 

“I thank Chairman McIntyre for his leadership at the agency, and pray for his swift recovery and return to good health as he continues as a commissioner,” Murkowski said. “I’m confident that Chairman Chatterjee will once again effectively lead the agency, and I will work with my Senate colleagues to restore a full complement of commissioners as quickly as possible.”

FERC is an independent commission that regulates interstate transmission and licenses hydropower projects. It is also responsible for approving LNG terminals and natural gas pipelines. There are currently four commissioners serving at FERC – Chairman Neil Chatterjee, Kevin McIntyre, Cheryl LaFleur, and Richard Glick. The president has the authority to designate the chairman of FERC, and does not require Senate approval to do so. The president also recently nominated Bernard McNamee to be a member of FERC, and the committee has scheduled his nomination hearing for Thursday, Nov. 15.

Murkowski is chairman of the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources.

Related Issues: Energy