Murkowski To Co-Chair U.S. Senate Oceans Caucus

Senator: Alaska Is Only State to Have Two Oceans that Drive our Economy and Culture

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senator Lisa Murkowski will be a leader of the new bipartisan Senate Oceans Caucus when it assembles for the first time tomorrow, with the remaining co-chairs to be named at the event. “It’s an honor to be a leader of this caucus, on behalf of the only state bordering two oceans,” said Senator Murkowski.  “The oceans are more than beautiful and important natural gifts, they are our farms, our factories of growth – and our future.” 

The mission of the Senate Oceans Caucus (SOC) is to provide a platform for congressional conversations about the nation’s coastal bays, estuaries, and deep seas.  The SOC will educate Members by hosting briefings and lectures regarding the latest in ocean research and policy, from the state of coral reefs in the south to settling international disputes over Arctic resources. 

“Alaska has more miles of coastline than the rest of the country combined, and is the reason America is an Arctic Nation,” Murkowski added.  “That means billions of dollars for Alaska from our prized fisheries and economic opportunities through responsible resource development.  It also means Alaska is on the front lines of emerging issues like the Law of the Sea Treaty – as diminishing sea ice is creating a wide range of opportunities for our state and nation.”

Other members joining the Senate Oceans Caucus are Senators Mark Begich,  Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Daniel Inouye (D-HI) Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Scott Brown (R-MA), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chris Coons (D-DE), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Daniel Inouye (D-HI), John Kerry (D-MA), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Patty Murray (D-WA), Olympia Snowe (R-ME) and Ron Wyden (D-OR).