Murkowski votes against confirmation of Timothy Geithner to be Secretary of the Treasury

Contact - Michael Brumas at 202.224.9301 or Anne Johnson at 202.224.8069

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, today voted against confirmation of Timothy Geithner to be the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury.

“I am most concerned with Mr. Geithner’s decision-making role in the Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP),” Murkowski said. “The program has gone from one failed policy of bailing out banks to another, with no clear answers from Mr. Geithner on how to free up credit for consumer and business lending. I am also troubled by his failure to pay personal taxes, and, in particular, that he took advantage of the statute of limitations by only paying taxes for 2003 and 2004. This is at odds with the ethical and moral obligations of those responsible for taxpayer funds.”

The Senate voted to confirm Geithner as head of the U.S. Department of Treasury today by a vote of 60 to 34.