Murkowski Welcomes Confirmation of Secretary Brouillette

U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, today released the following statement after voting to confirm Dan Brouillette to be Secretary of Energy. The Senate confirmed Brouillette, who will replace departing Secretary Rick Perry, through a bipartisan vote of 70–15.

“I congratulate Dan on his confirmation to be Secretary of Energy and look forward to working with him even more closely to build on his strong record as Deputy Secretary. From energy security to technological innovation, Dan’s leadership will be critical for the Department of Energy and for our country,” Murkowski said. “As Secretary Perry departs from DOE, I also thank him for his service, and wish him all the best in his next endeavors.”

The Senate confirmed Brouillette to be Deputy Secretary of Energy on a bipartisan basis on August 3, 2017. The President nominated Brouillette to be Secretary of Energy on November 7, 2019, and the Energy and Natural Resources Committee reported his nomination to the full Senate by a vote of 16-4 on November 19, 2019.  

Murkowski is chairman of the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, which has jurisdiction over the Department of Energy. She spoke on the Senate floor before voting in support of cloture on Brouillette’s nomination in late November.