Murkowski Welcomes Re-Establishment of Arctic Energy Office in Fairbanks

U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, today released the following statement after the Department of Energy (the Department) formally announced it has re-established its Arctic Energy Office in Fairbanks, Alaska.

“The United States is an Arctic nation because of Alaska, and the re-establishment of the Arctic Energy Office in Fairbanks will ensure greater collaboration between our state’s innovators and the Department of Energy’s cutting-edge researchers,” Murkowski said. “I have prioritized this office in the Appropriations process because I know it will help facilitate the development of advanced energy technologies that benefit resource-rich Alaska and the country. I thank Secretary Brouillette, Deputy Secretary Menezes, and their teams for working with us to re-establish this important office.”

Congress provided the Department with authority to establish an Arctic Energy Office through the National Defense Authorization Act of 2001. The revitalized office will support a renewed focus on the Arctic region, driving coordination and collaboration on Arctic issues with a primary focus on energy, science, and national security. The new office’s cross-cutting mission will support the research and development of a wide range of technologies such as microgrids, advanced nuclear, and river and marine energy, among others. It will also help guide and strengthen the Department’s international engagements on the Arctic.

Murkowski is Chairman of the Energy and Natural Resources Committee and a senior member of the Appropriations Committee. She worked with Senate Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee Chairman Lamar Alexander, R-Tenn., to include report language directing the Department to revive the Arctic Energy Office in each of the last two fiscal years. She also encouraged the re-establishment of the Arctic Energy Office during the nomination hearing for Secretary of Energy Dan Brouillette and the nomination hearing for Deputy Secretary of Energy Mark Menezes.

Learn more about the new office here.

Related Issues: Energy