Senator Murkowski Announces 2015 Service Academy Nominations

57 Young Alaskans “Have Answered the Call to Service”

Senator Lisa Murkowski today proudly announced that she has nominated 57 promising Alaskans to the U.S. military service academies for the class of 2019.

“These candidates come from every corner of the state, and embody incredible talent, dedication, and leadership. I am honored that they have answered the call to service, and to have the opportunity to nominate them for consideration,” said Murkowski. “I know that these intelligent and accomplished young Alaskans will make the state proud.”

U.S. military service academy nominees are selected based on their academic record, extracurricular activities, and leadership capacity. Senator Murkowski’s nominees will now compete against other candidates nationwide for a spot in the entering class. Though a congressional nomination to a service academy is an accomplishment within itself, it does not guarantee admission; service academies will make final decisions.

Senator Murkowski’s 2015 Service Academy nominees and their hometowns are:

 U.S. Air Force Academy (Colorado Springs, CO)                 

  1. Makaliah Billings, Fairbanks                                                        
  2. Sierra Ernst, Chugiak                                                                   
  3. Nicholas Fleming, North Pole**                                                  
  4. Kraig Hammond, Anchorage                                                       
  5. Kathryn Keeney, Valdez                                                 
  6. Simon Lynn, Anchorage                                                  
  7. Alexander Simkins, JBER                                                           
  8. Logan Skinner, Anchorage                                                          
  9. Michael Todd, Eagle River                                                          
  10. Katrina Wood, Anchorage

U.S. Naval Academy (Annapolis, MD)

  1. Alexandra Butler, Wasilla
  2. Armando DeAsis, Juneau
  3. Peter DeStefano, Anchorage**
  4. William Ditmore, Anchorage
  5. Cole George, Eagle River**
  6. Raymond Gerrety, Anchorage
  7. James Goyette, Wasilla**
  8. William Hail, Anchorage
  9. Jace Jerome, Eagle River
  10. Natalie Lautrup, Palmer
  11. Kamber Lucas, Wasilla
  12. William Martin, Juneau
  13. Kathleen Meeds, Anchorage
  14. Alex Pihl, Ketchikan
  15. Joshua Roetman, Kotzebue
  16. Michael Rosenberg, Eagle River**
  17. Ella Sherrill, Ketchikan**
  18. Levi Thomet, Kodiak
  19. Bryce Ward, Palmer
  20. Dakota Whittaker, Palmer

U.S. Military Academy (West Point, NY)

1. Ian Ashley, Kenai

2. Sarah Boelter, Eagle River**

3. Morgan Conrow, North Pole

4. Adam Cusack, Anchorage

5. Henry Davis, Eagle River

6. Peter DeStefano, Anchorage

7. Alex Fancher, Anchorage

8. Kenny Fox, Juneau

9. Cole George, Eagle River

10. James Goyette, Wasilla

11. Chase Hammer, Wasilla

12. Wyatt Hoyes, Fairbanks

13. Jeri Langert, Ketchikan

14. Marina Noble, Anchorage

15. Holly O’Brien, Ketchikan

16. Nicole Polhamus, Fairbanks

17. Michael Rosenberg, Eagle River

18. Lauren Syrup, Anchorage

19. Nicholas Zweifel, Seward

U. S. Merchant Marine Academy (Kings Point, NY)

  1. David Bates, Anchorage
  2. Sarah Boelter, Eagle River
  3. Luke Cvancara, Anchorage
  4. Nicholas Fleming, North Pole
  5. Dylan Magnusen, Unalaska
  6. Dylan Nolder, Anchorage
  7. Ella Sherrill, Ketchikan
  8. Ben Zarlengo, Petersburg

 **received more than one nomination