Senators Honor Heroes of the Last Frontier

The U.S. Senate passed a resolution (attached), introduced by U.S. Senators Lisa Murkowski and Dan Sullivan, commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Alaska State Troopers and honoring the “first responders of the last frontier” and their families for their service and sacrifice. In 1941, the 15th Territorial Legislature established the Alaska Highway Patrol, an organization created for the sole purpose of enforcing the traffic code in the territory. That organization grew and evolved into what we know today as the Alaska State Troopers, Alaska Wildlife Troopers, and Village Public Safety Officers.

“I cannot think of a more appropriate time to honor the loyalty, integrity, and courage of the Alaska State Troopers than the eve of National Police Week. Our troopers face huge challenges policing Alaska’s vast geography, and we are fortunate that their skill and determination rise to that challenge,” said Senator Murkowski. “On behalf of a grateful state, I thank the Alaska State Troopers, Alaska Wildlife Troopers, and Village Public Safety Officers for protecting the Last Frontier.”

"When I was the state’s attorney general, I saw first-hand how essential the Alaska State Troopers are to protecting the peace and enforcing the law in Alaska,” said Senator Sullivan. “Troopers expertly face dangers uncommon to most peace officers – from blizzards and avalanches to hurricane-force winds and sub-zero temperatures. They spend time away from their families, protecting Alaskans. Troopers also safeguard our rich natural resources. Without their vigilance we would not have the best-managed fisheries in the world, nor the unique subsistence hunting and fishing opportunities that set our state apart. Congratulations to the Troopers on 75 years of admirable service and dedication to our communities."

National Police Week begins Sunday, May 15, recognizing the service and sacrifice of U.S. law enforcement. During this week, the nation pays special recognition to all law enforcement officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty for the safety and protection of others, including 16 members of the Alaska State Troopers, 2 Village Public Safety Officers, and a Deputy Commissioner of the Alaska Department of Public Safety.

Related Files