Arctic Caucus Co-Chairs Murkowski and King Welcome Finland’s Accession into NATO

Anchorage, AK – Today, Senators Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) and Angus King (I-ME), co-chairs of the Arctic Caucus, celebrated Finland’s accession into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO). In May 2022, the Senators supported a bipartisan resolution and expressed their support for both Finland’s and Sweden’s accession into NATO.

“Finland’s accession to NATO is welcome news for the U.S., our Arctic allies, and the global security landscape. I’ve been supportive of the people of Finland and their right to choose military alliances, and I look forward to continuing our work together as we pursue a safer, stronger future for the Arctic and world,” said Senator Lisa Murkowski. “While Russia continues its attack on Ukraine and attempts to disrupt global order, the other Arctic nations are united in pursuing a future of peace and stability for both the region and our allies. NATO’s capabilities are only growing stronger thanks to the growing participation of our Arctic partners. I hope to also welcome Sweden into NATO soon—and will continue supporting their efforts to join this critical alliance.”

“Vladimir Putin thought his brutal, unprovoked invasion of Ukraine would divide the Free World – he was unequivocally wrong. As Putin wages a bloody, illegal war to gain land that belongs to Ukraine, he is losing ground and standing among the international community. Finland officially joining NATO today is a powerful reminder that America and our allies are united in defense of democracy, peace, and freedom,” said Senator King. “Finland is a valuable addition to the defensive alliance that will help us deter conflicts, expand capabilities in the Arctic, and stabilize the High North around shared democratic values. When I met with President Niinistö last year, I told him personally that I supported his nation joining our alliance and I look forward to continued work ahead.”

 As Vice Chairman of the Standing Committee of Parliamentarians of the SCPAR (Arctic Parliamentarians) a position Senator Murkowski was first selected for in April 2021, she has long been a leader in Arctic issues.