Arctic Caucus Co-Chairs Murkowski, King Join Congressional Resolution Supporting Finland’s and Sweden’s Accession in NATO

U.S. Senators Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) and Angus King (I-Maine), co-chairs of the Senate Arctic Caucus, issued the following statement after co-sponsoring Senate Resolution 646 (S.Res.646) expressing support for Finland’s and Sweden’s accession into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and expediting the ratification of accession protocols.

“As the world rallies behind Ukraine’s efforts to defend democracy and against Russia’s unprovoked and barbaric invasion, I’m proud to put my support behind the people of Finland and Sweden as they aim to join NATO. I respect our Nordic allies in their right to choose alliances. Finland and Sweden must know they have the full support of the United States and the U S Senate as they take this next step,” said Senator Murkowski (R-Alaska).

“Vladimir Putin has made two major miscalculations: that the Ukrainian people would not resist his attempts to restore the Soviet Union through barbaric force, and that NATO would not demonstrate a unity of purpose to defend the free world,” said Senator Angus King (I-Maine). “As Russia’s attempted war on Ukraine enters its fourth month, it is clear that his first presumption was very wrong.  And now, his bellicose violence has not only unified NATO but attracted more nations to this vital defensive alliance.  This is a low time for the High North, but by ratifying the accession of Finland and Sweden into NATO, we can stabilize this region around shared values.

As Vice Chairman of the Standing Committee of Parliamentarians of the SCPAR (Arctic Parliamentarians) a position Senator Murkowski was first selected for in April 2021, she has long been a leader in Arctic issues.  

Senators Murkowski and King join Senators Risch, Menendez, Schumer, McConnell, Shaheen, Johnson, Cardin and Coons in cosponsoring S.Res.646, which was introduced on May 19, 2022.

Senator Murkowski previously expressed her support for Finland’s intent to become a member of NATO.

Arctic Caucus co-chairs Murkowski and King previously supported the decision of Arctic intergovernmental forums, including the Arctic Council and Arctic Economic Council, to publicly denounce Russia’s unprovoked attacks against Ukraine—and stand with our partners.